Recipe: Lemon Curd

23 Mar

Curd this be love?

Whenever contemplating what to do about breakfast I am always reminded of that adage –  an army marches on it’s stomach.  And whilst I am not especially fond of marching, not for prolonged periods at any rate, I am fond of filling my stomach, especially at breakfast.  Very fond.  And so imagine my delight, when my new boss, Jon, – who happens to be equally as obsessed with eating as I am, and a fan of the udon noodle as I discovered when we went for supper at Koya – declared one morning that he had made lemon curd. And bought it into work.  Like a ferret up a drainpipe I was planning on sourcing the requisite accompaniments: butter, bread and tea.

The next day we were set.  Papers at the ready so we could gossip about the haircuts of the shadow cabinet and quiz each other on the day’s birthdays.  The toaster was firing on all cylinders and the kettle boiled.  I very nearly put an out of office on my outlook and my phone on divert whilst I tucked in to this breakfast treat. The curd was amazing.  So zingy, so zippy and lemony fresh and clean.  Smooth and pale, sweet and comforting.  This was toast worth getting out of bed for.

Drilling Jon on where he found the recipe he pointed me in the direction of my favourite chef – Nigel Slater – who waxes (seriously, no pun intended) lyrical about the joys of making lemon curd here.

Curd this be magic?

I intend to make this very soon indeed and so will update you if I end up getting into any curd-based scraps. In the meantime, you will need, for 2 small jam jars:

* zest and juice of 4 unwaxed lemons   *200g sugar   *100g butter   *3 eggs and 1 egg yolk

To make:

1.  Put the lemon zest and juice, the sugar and the butter, cut into cubes, into a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, making sure that the bottom of the basin doesn’t touch the water.

2. Stir with a whisk from time to time until the butter has melted.

3. Mix the eggs and egg yolk lightly with a fork, then stir into the lemon mixture. Let the curd cook, stirring regularly, for about 10 minutes, until it is thick and custard-like. It should feel heavy on the whisk.

4. Remove from the heat and stir occasionally as it cools. Pour into spotlessly clean jars and seal. It will keep for a couple of weeks in the refrigerator.

2 Responses to “Recipe: Lemon Curd”

  1. Jon March 24, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Well, it’s not often I get mentioned in a blog. Not in a good way, anyway…

    It was pretty tasty, and the good news is I still have some in my fridge, which may have to make a birthday appearance on Monday….

    However, if anyone’s having a think about making some, whilst I wouldn’t want to question the divine right-ness of Mr Slater in such matters, I find it takes more like 20 – 30 minutes rather than 10… but it’s all very lovely, occasionally stirring a pond of lovely lemony lava as it thickens….

    • wouldliketoeat March 24, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Birthday curd – yay! Thanks again Jon – was truly the breakfast of champions!

Leave a Reply

