Review: The Fish Place

23 Jan

"Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what's for lunch." Orson Welles

The Fish Place

Address – Vicentia Court, Bridges Wharf, Battersea, London, SW11 3GY

Phone – 020 7095 0410

Email

Open –  Tuesday to Sunday: 12 – 3pm, Tuesday to Saturday: 7pm – 11pm

Whether I’m lying in bed listening to seagulls squawking and soaring above the Thames, as sailing boats bob along with the wind and barges chug down the river, or wrapped-up warm strolling in the park, alongside the dog-walkers and rollerskaters, as I feed the ducks and geese in the lake by the Pumphouse or cloud-spotting and freckle-growing beneath the pagoda, I love Battersea. Where else boasts the twinkly lights on Albert Bridge and the brutal chimneys of the power station.

"I never drink coffee at lunch. I find it keeps me awake for the afternoon." Ronald Reagan

For the last couple of years I’ve lived in a shiny new apartment, Bridges Wharf, right on the riverside, where I’ve spent happy summers enjoying barbeques and sunflower growing competitions on my balcony and watched fireworks pop and bang over the city during dark winter nights.

New to Bridges Wharf is the Fish Place, where Josh and I popped for lunch today, and it is shaping up to be a fantastic neighbour.  The dining rooms are spread over two floors, with huge windows which will let in streams of summer sunshine once this winter gets a move on.  The decor is sharp and crisp, the service polite and friendly but my; it’s the food that deserves your attention.

We began with a decent portion of beautifully toasted fresh bread, popping with nuts and soft fruits, which we slathered with butter*. Gorgeous.  To start I had the Dorset Crab ravioli with buttery savoy cabbage and delicate tarragon; Josh had a beetroot and goat’s cheese salad. My starter was impeccable, the crab soft and fresh, the pasta taut, the cabbage silky sweet.  Josh’s salad was tangy and light and was gobbled up unashamedly fast.

Josh ordered roast beef for his main (I know it IS a fish place, but there something irresistible about a Sunday roast, you’ve got to admit) which was cooked perfectly – rosy pink in the middle – and topped with a rich boozy gravy and the requisite Yorkshire pud. I opted for cod on wilted spinach with parsnip crisps and a herby mash.  Once again my plate was left sparkling as I delighted in bite after bite of creamy mash and fresh, succulent fish. Both meals were the perfect size and bursting with great flavours.

"Lunch is for Wimps." Oliver Stone

Never knowingly underfed, we moved onto desserts and I had a trio of fruity, sharp sorbets whilst Josh plumped for a chocolate fondant and almond ice cream. The sponge was moist and rich and super gooey inside. Delicious.

Feeling tender after a few nights on the liquor we didn’t have any wine but even if you did have a glass or two, the lunchtime menu was an absolute steal: £15 for 2 courses and £18 for 3. There are also deals on Thursday and Friday nights when you can have a bowl of mussels or fish and chips, respectively, with a glass of plonk for £12, and I’ll be scanning my filofax for a free night to try it out.

It’s hard for me not to want the Fish Place to do really well. Not only were the staff incredibly friendly and the food absolutely beautiful, but as it’s my sort-of-next-door-neighbour I want to see it thrive.  I think come the summertime it will.

8/10. We ate as guests of the Fish Place.

"Some weasel took the cork out of my lunch." W. C. Fields

*Josh asked me to add that the bread and butter portions at the Fish Place, unlike in some restaurants, were wonderfully generous. Consider it duly noted.

3 Responses to “Review: The Fish Place”

  1. campari&soda July 13, 2011 at 4:11 am #

    great post: i can’ t wait to try the fish place-pity about the location! it seems to be too far for frequent visits which is unfortunate for them!

    • wouldliketoeat July 13, 2011 at 7:29 am #

      It seems to be much busier lately which is really good as the food is really very nice indeed. The river views are also beautiful (I am so lucky to live in the same building!) but that said it is still hard to find – the number of hours guests to my flat have spent wandering around getting increasingly lost is quite ridiculous.

      Thanks for your comment – I just checked out your blog and it’s awesome. The photos were too droolsome for this time of the day though!

    • wouldliketoeat November 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      Hello, have you tried it yet? It is a bit tricky to find but there are sign-posts now. Would love to know what you had and what you thought of it. And if you saw more celebs in their choppers whilst you dined!

Leave a Reply

