Recipe: Little Nana-Nana (Banana and Sultana) Cakes

6 Sep
Twice the Nana action!

Even though I try and be a good house frau, I often fail. Whether it’s the Clothes Mountain on my bedroom floor (of clothes that I’ve washed but then neglected to fold and put away, which grows at a violent rate) the dire state of the inside of my oven, uncleaned after a year and a half in my flat, or the tire marks that my bike has etched all over those once pristine walls, I’m not fully Stepford yet.

 
But now and again I surprise myself. I may leap out of bed at dawn to bake or spend hours scrubbing my flat until it sparkles, before wandering room from room, beaming at all of my handiwork. Sometimes.
 
On Sunday, I made cakes for my boyfriend and his cricket team, little ‘ana’ cakes (being both banana and sultana in case you were wondering..) which used the bananas that were turning a deep shade of brown in my fruit bowl. These little cakes were guaranteed to keep the boys batting and bowling from teatime and beyond. They were moist and sweet and the kind of cake which could keep for a few days and get better with age. Also it’s great getting to use older bananas as I like mine almost green and pang with guilt at throwing food away. I used sultanas but I reckon chocolate chips or walnuts would also work like a dream.
 
To buy – to make about ten cakes:
*4 oz unsalted butter, softened   *4 0z caster sugar   *4 oz self-raising flour   *2 eggs   *pinch of nutmeg   *two very ripe bananas   *2 0z raisins
To make –
1. Preheat the oven to 175Oc and place the cake cases on a baking sheet or in a muffin tin.
2. Combine the butter, sugar, flour, eggs and nutmeg in a large bowl and beat with an electric whisk (or by hand if you’re feeling macho) until it’s smooth and creamy. I whizzed the mixture for about 3 minutes so that it was really light.
3. In a bowl mash your bananas and add the sultanas. Stir into the cake batter and mix it right in.
4. Spoon the batter into the cases and pop into the oven for about 20 minutes but really, until whenever the cakes look golden and the cakes are cooked through.
5. If you like you can sprinkle sugar on before they are fully baked and pop back into the oven so it caramelises a bit. Whatever, when they’re fresh out of the oven, leave to cool on a wire rack.
 
Really simple and super fast. You could frost with cream cheese icing were you feeling decadent and I think they’d be gorgeous with custard.
Now, it’s either a jump into bed to finish my book, perhaps have a nap, or I get busy on attacking that Clothes Mountain, teetering on the edge of collapse, in my bedroom… zzzz….
 
Leave a Reply

