You Got Served: Marmite Cake Tins

13 May

Love them or hate them

Now this, this is clever. I fully accept that Marmite is a love-it or hate-it kind of thing* , but who doesn’t love cake? No friend of mine, that’s for sure. And these tins have a most natty design that is sure to boggle the mind of marmite-hatin’, cake loving’ people.

I spied them in Peter Jones where they are going for about £20 but some desk-based research (translation: googling) has shown that they’re widely available on Amazon and the like.  I need them. I am sure I could readily make-do with some Tupperware (really should organise a Tupperware party one of these days..) but that’s not nearly as fun as a retro and colourful bunch of tins. And cake-transportation remains an issue with me. Cycling into work only to present expectant colleagues with mashed-up cake is no fun. Who wants to make the birthday girl cry when the icing on the cake reading “Dear Aunt” becomes horribly smudged…
There’s simply no way round it. I shall have to save up and invest.

* I think I may be the only person in the world who’s reaction to marmite is “meh”, thereby totally buggering up their marketing strategy. Is anyone else indifferent? Do we need to launch a “meh to marmite” campaign?

3 Responses to “You Got Served: Marmite Cake Tins”

  1. onthebummel May 14, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    Are you sure you want to organise a tupperware party?

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=tupperware%20party

    • wouldliketoeat May 14, 2010 at 8:12 am #

      Oh my. That is not the tupperware party I had in mind.

      • onthebummel May 16, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

        It is incredible what people come up with these days…

Leave a Reply

