Guilty Pleasures: Cocos Ball aka Chocolate Clouds

11 Apr

Clouds of Joy

I freaking love cocos balls. Marshmallow balls enveloped in silky chocolate and dipped in coconut. Soft and gooey, crisp and moreish. They are amazing. Although as I discovered with flushed-cheeks today, difficult to eat – politely – in public.

Popular across the world in one way or another, Britain’s nearest cousin is the amazing Tunnocks tea-cake (which avid readers will know I have waxed lyrically about previously) and I have eaten these in Sweden and Finland and Denmark where they’re called flødebolle.

Having bought a giant pack from Ikea a few weeks ago, I reprimanded my boyfriend, “I’m eating a cloud, shut up!” and so we now refer to them as chocolate clouds. Which I think sums up their fluffiness and wispiness well.

I cannot understate my love for chocolate-clouds. And so it was that I went on an epic journey across London – involving tube, bus, tram AND train to go to Ikea, yesterday, and pick up 3 boxes of these puppies. A box of 10 big balls can be picked up for £1.70 whereas 6 little balls will set you back £1.05. I expect they will remain in this house less than a month. They are the perfect little pudding after a huge dinner or a just-got-back-from-work-and-peering-in-the-fridge-for-something-quick-to-eat-to-take-the-edge-of-your-hunger treat. Is there anything else in the Ikea Food market that’s better than this? I mean I doubt it, but remain to be convinced!

5 Responses to “Guilty Pleasures: Cocos Ball aka Chocolate Clouds”

  1. punkchef May 11, 2010 at 12:59 am #

    Are they not just “Snowballs”?

    You can get them for about 70p from Morrisons, for like 12

    • wouldliketoeat May 12, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

      Funny you should mention that… I have just tried some tunnocks snowballs. As you rightly point out they are dead cheap and much easier to buy then the trek to IKEA. Plus they’re even tastier. My only question is how the frick I managed to live my life (so far) without more snowball action…?

      • Ricky Trip August 8, 2011 at 4:44 am #

        I guess it’s a matter of taste, Snowballs does nothing for me, I grew up in Scandinavia with Cocobuns (Cocosball) and can’t live without them – I need one right now! Going on a 25 minute ride to IKEA:D

    • Ricky Trip August 8, 2011 at 4:39 am #

      Cocosball, or Cocobuns, are not marshmallows at all, common mistake though:) They’re actually egg whites whipped with sugar and taste like heaven with chocolate and coconut – expensive, but worth it!

      • wouldliketoeat November 13, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

        I want some NOW! IKEA is too far away and I’m still in my PJs though. Boooo! Thanks for the clarification too – very helpful! Happy Sunday x

Leave a Reply

