Guilty Pleasures: Wagamama’s Katsu Curry

21 Mar

Hangover Cure.

Sometimes I think that being novel is a bore. That there is an honour in being predictable. I long for the old-familiar. Yeeeaah. And sometimes, faced with a raging hangover and a Wagamama menu, I think of being adventurous and cast my eyes around the room – seeing plate after plate of Katsu Curry – and before I know it I’ve done it again.

The token salad with bright red pickles, mound of sticky white rice and glutinous fruity curry sauce draped over a stack of panko-crusted chicken. So wrong and yet so right. You know it contains a gazillion (technical term) calories. You know you should try something, ANYTHING else, just once. But really. You’ll only regret it, right?

Has anyone ever had anything other than a Katsu Curry (and no, the Chicken Udon Noodles don’t count, they’re as guilty and predictable as the curry)… and what was it like? Tasty? Or did it taste of resentment and jealousy? Did it smack of misadventure? Does anyone even read the menu? You can tell me…

3 Responses to “Guilty Pleasures: Wagamama’s Katsu Curry”

  1. Foo March 21, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    You’re not the only one stuck in the wagamama mud!! I haven’t ordered owt else but Chicken Tama rice in there, and we ALWAYS share a plate of duck gyozas (deep-fried duck and leek dumplings), which come with a spicy cherry hoi sin sauce. SO good!

    The only way I got to try more of the menu was to buy my hubby the cook book and make him make me stuff! Our fave at home is “Duck Ramone”, as we have renamed it…

    I’ll defo try your chicken one next time tho, variety is the rice of life! X

    • wouldliketoeat March 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Chicken Tama Rice you say… I have such tunnel-vision when it comes to Wags that I didn’t even know such a dish existed. I may have to force myself to try that next time… Oh and I lurve duck gyozas too – that dipping sauce is scrummy – but I always resent my boyfriend a bit when I give him the 3 out of 5… such a piggy.

      I haven’t got the cookbook – yet! – but ‘Duck Ramone’ sounds swell. I shall HAVE to invest.
      Let me know what you think of the katsu curry/udon chicken noodles..

      xx

  2. alex March 25, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Duck gyozas are amazing. I’d like to eat 30 of them, and not bother with a main. They are a bit pricey though imo.

Leave a Reply

