Recipe: Apple and Cinnamon Cake

9 Mar
Can you guess who it was for?

Last week I featured a recipe by my friend and colleague Denny – for her Grandma’s Banitza – and what most of you will not know is that Denny is a lady of many awesome talents.  She has a cracking singing voice, hits a soft ball like a traction engine and makes utterly mouth-watering Blondies.   To celebrate her birthday I thought it only right that I do something a little bit special, so with high hopes, last night I baked an apple and cinnamon cake and set about personalising it for her.  I printed out her name on paper and carefully cut out the letters whilst it was baking in the oven.  Once hot and cooked I carefully sieved icing sugar through the template onto the cake to reveal Denny’s name in icing. Sofari, so goodie.

However – hankies at the ready – when I revealed the cake at the birthday tea at the office today, my face dropped, my mood sank. The cake had soaked up the icing. Her name was no more… boooo!

I am awful, just awful and getting cakes in to work intact. How does anyone do it?! Gah.  Anyway, on a brighter note, the cake went down really well and was pretty juicy (and I like to think, healthy…)  It was made like this:

To buy:

*250g self-raising flour   *1 heaped tsp ground cinnamon   *1 tsp baking powder   *100g light muscovado sugar   *175g sultanas   *125ml sunflower oil   *2 eggs, beaten   *125 ml apple juice   *2 apples (I used 1 x cooking apple and 1 x pink lady)   *25g flaked/chopped almonds   *icing sugar

To make:

1.Preheat the oven to 160Oc (fan) and grease a deep round tin.

2.Sift the flour into a bowl, with the cinnamon and baking powder.  Add the sugar and sultanas and stir well.  Make a well in the mixture and stir in the eggs, oil and juice.

3.Grate the apples and add to the mixture and stir really well.

4.Pour the mixture into the tin and flatten with a palette knife and then scatter with the almonds.

5.After about 40 minutes of baking check the cake is cooked (you can insert a skewer into the cake and if it comes out clean it’s done) and then leave to cool on a rack.

6.Dust with the icing sugar (in any way you see fit!)

So, a juicy moist cake  (with props to goodfood) that apparently goobles up icing sugar when you’re not looking. You have been warned!

4 Responses to “Recipe: Apple and Cinnamon Cake”

  1. cakes March 28, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is wedding cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

  2. Leonie April 21, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Well i bet they were better than my originals – you’re such a natural cook. However next time you make them it should be when I’m there to taste!

    • wouldliketoeat April 22, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      I would love to make you lots of cakes to test. Although perhaps after holidays: otherwise we won’t squeeze into our swimsuits!! x

  3. Michael Beyer August 21, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Nice! This my family’s treasured apple cake recipe from my grandma:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/grandmas-slab-apple-cake/

Leave a Reply

