Review: Cocoa Box – Cupcake and Cocktail Workshop

6 Mar

Happy cupcakes!

My very lovely boyfriend treated me to a ‘Cupcake and Cocktail’ workshop hosted by The Cocoa Box for Valentine’s Day and off we popped to Hampstead today to get busy with sugar, cakes and booze!

Whilst sipping (ok ok, necking) a tasty vodka cocktail the class – hosted by three charming and encouraging ladies – were patiently shown how to make all kinds of shapes (butterflies, ribbon and bows, roses and flowers) with icing and how to decorate the cupcakes using buttercream and fondant icing.  We were given a bunch of about 6 cupcakes each and allowed to let rip.  Edible glitter, chocolate vermicelli and hundreds of thousands were just chucked about – it was such fun!

I have to say I was actually pretty rubbish at using the piping bags to decorate my cakes and I did go a little more overboard than I ordinarily would but it was all just part of the fun.  Josh’s cakes were a mixture of genius and disaster. and made us laugh heaps.  On the tube home our little boxes of cupcakes – tied up with pretty ribbon – attracted hundreds of envious stares and I literally cannot wait to scoff them all later.  It was a wonderful gift and a jolly way to spend a few hours. Thank you Josh (and Cocoa Box) for putting a massive – and pretty giddy! – smile on my face. 

x

p.s. in the pic my cakes are the 6 on the left and Josh’s are the six on the right! His are better!

(For more details about Cocoa Box the website is here: http://www.thecocoabox.co.uk/)

2 Responses to “Review: Cocoa Box – Cupcake and Cocktail Workshop”

  1. Lisa March 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Thank you for a lovely review of our class. I’m so pleased you had a nice time!
    The cupcakes look lovely.x

    • wouldliketoeat March 16, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

      Thank you Lisa – I had a brilliant time and everyone who tried a cupcake (I wasn’t too happy about sharing them mind…) just LOVED them! x

Leave a Reply

