Smell My Cheese You Mother: Arrested Development

22 Feb
Come on!

Absolutely amazing, this American show focuses on the Bluth family; the members of whom are living dysfunctional and extravagant lives, despite the patriarch being banged up for dodgy dealing and as a result, the money being pretty thin on the ground.

Below are my favourite scenes – involving food and drink – from the show…

10 Michael: “Well, you certainly haven’t been shopping. The only thing I found in the fridge was a dead dove in a bag…” to which struggling magician Gob replies: “You didn’t eat that, did you?”

9 Tobias Fϋnke – Lindsey’s husband, never-nude and sometimes Blue Man is desperately struggling to become an actor, throwing money at Carl Weathers a respected actor he asks: “Do you see me more as the respected dramatic actor or more of the beloved comic actor?”, Carl responds: “Whoa, whoa, whoa. There’s still plenty of meat on that bone. Now you take this home, throw it in a pot, add some broth, a potato. Baby, you’ve got a stew going.”.. Tobias responds: “Yes, that’s fine, but I would like to focus on my acting, Mr. Weathers. I did give you my last $1, 100.” Carl Weathers responds: “Let me tell you a little story about acting. I was doing this Showtime movie, Hot Ice with Anne Archer, never once touched my per diem. I’d go to Craft Service, get some raw veggies, bacon, Cup-A-Soup… baby, I got a stew going.”
Tobias: pause… “I think I’d like my money back.”

8 At a house party at the Bluth family home, the following exchange takes place:

Michael: “There’s more to life than strippers and booze and buckets of blood. Why do you guys have buckets of blood?” to which Gob unabashed replies…”It’s not real blood. It’s corn syrup and red dye… juice.” Unable to contain his glee: Buster squeals: “There’s unlimited juice? This party is gonna be off the hook.”

7 Tobias Fϋnke, while at a western-themed resort: “Michael, you are not quite the ladies man I had pictured. Hopefully, we will remedy that when we are in the spa spreading body chocolate on each other.”

6 Whilst discussing a business deal regarding a new property development –

Michael: “What do you think of when you hear the name, ‘Sudden Valley’?”
George Michael Bluth: “Salad dressing. But I don’t want to eat it.”
Michael: “What about, ‘Paradise Gardens’?” to which George Michael Bluth responds “Yeah… that’s better. I can see myself marinating a chicken in that.”

5 The Bluth family have, for a long time, run a Frozen Banana stand, together Michael and George Michael are watching the banana stand burn to the ground. Michael remarks: “This is going to be our best summer ever.” Gob scoots up on behind them on his segway… And listens to Michael “You mailed that insurance check, right, Gob?” Gob scoots off, Michael chases after him…

4. A tender meal shared with Mother and Daughter –

Lindsay Fϋnke: “Did you enjoy your meal, Mom?… You drank it fast enough” to which Lucilee icily replies.. “Not as much as you enjoyed yours.. You want the belt to buckle, not your chair.”

3 Gob’s acting as CEO of the family company… in the break room he starts shoutingThe worst that could happen is that I could spill coffee all over this $3,000 suit. Come on.”

2 Tobias Fϋnke is acting as ‘Mrs. Phlyddia Featherbottom’ in an attempt to see his daughter and prove to his wife he can act (yes, copying the plot of Mrs Doubtfire…) he says “A squirt of frosting down the throat helps to take your medication / In the most delicious way…” and later,  O-kay, who’d like a banger in the mouth? … to laughter he follows up “Right, I forgot, here in the States, you call it a *sausage* in the mouth.”

1 Michael’s discussing his son’s new girlfriend and tries to be reassuring “I’m sure Egg is a great person.  George Michael, looking crestfallen, “It’s… it’s Ann.”

Leave a Reply

