Recipe: P-p-p-p-Pancakes!

16 Feb
Flipping marvellous

         As the song in Maid Marian and her Merry Men goes: “It’s pancake day, yes it’s pancake day, p-p-p-p-p-p-pancake day!” and hip-hip-hooray! I have been excited about this evening’s dinner for about a week. I am really very sad.

To make the pancake batter there was only ever one option and it was to follow a Delia recipe, specifically this one. And hats off to Delia, the pancakes were utterly delicious and I made a perfect 8 (2 x savoury and 2 x sweet for me and my boy.)

Filling-wise, I went for pan-fried mushrooms, honey roast ham, with parmesan and cheddar and shredded rocket, with heaps of black pepper for “dinner” and then the obligatory lemon and sugar for “pudding”.

Wowzers. Such fun! Tossing the pancakes was a giddy delight (didn’t drop or break a single one?! What the flip?) and despite needing to undo the top button of my jeans afterwards they were very tasty.

Only one problem. Lent. There’s NOTHING that I can imagine giving up. I am so bad!

Leave a Reply

