Food on Film: Tampopo

24 Jan
Noodle Western

I haven’t seen this 1985 “Japanese noodle western” in a long time. And my memory is a little hazy. What I do remember though, is that it is a film in love, indeed, obsessed with food. Two guys set upon coming up with the perfect noodle bar and along the way we discover all kinds of culinary treats and fetishes. I had never seen food like it.  Forever with me is a scene where a gangster and his moll share a raw egg. Passionate and bizarre. I need to buy it again as my dusty old VHS copy is useless but just thinking about it makes me hanker after tasty Asian scoff.

Leave a Reply

