Ingredient of the Week: Medlar Jelly

17 Jan

                    A few weeks back I read an article by Nigel Slater in the Observer on Medlar fruit. About how the “fruit…smells of rancid wine and resembles nothing so much as a cat’s bottom”. Well, a fruit that looks like a cat’s bum? I was intrigued. Like a child hoping for snow on a school morning I had great anticipation that I would soon see some medlar jam or jelly and get to taste this bizarre confection. For a long time though… nothing. Then, last week I happened to pop into Partridges on my way home. Amongst the astronomically priced curiosities and American candy I saw a jar and snaffled it up immediately. And so to taste.

Well… it tastes good! And did not conjure up images of a cat’s bum, pheeeew! The texture was silky and smooth. It was gentle on my tounge, sweet and quietly rich. Need to read up on how to use it well now… but mmm, scrummy.

Leave a Reply

